

Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania LLC 7660 Imperial Way Allentown, PA 18195-1040 Tel 610-366-4600 Fax 610-871-5994

Sent via e-mail only

December 7, 2022

Randy R. Shustack Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Pottsville District Mining Office 5 West Laurel Boulevard Pottsville, PA 17901

Re: 2022 Minimum Tonnage Abeyance Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania LLC Rock Hill Quarry SMP No. 7974SM1 East Rockhill Twp., Bucks Co., PA

Dear Mr. Shustack:

Mining and related activities remain under a cessation order at the Rock Hill Quarry. Considering the speed at which we are approaching the end of the calendar year 2022, Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania LLC ("Hanson") respectfully requests the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection ("Department") continue to hold in abeyance the annual minimum tonnage removal requirement for active mine operations due to the Department's December 5, 2018 order.

I have attached the Department's December 3, 2021 letter regarding the 2021 calendar year minimum tonnage abeyance for your reference. Please feel free to contact me at (610) 366-4819 should you require additional information.

Sincerely,

Andrew J. Gutshall, P.G. Area Environmental Manager

encl: PADEP December 3, 2021 letter

John Stefanko, PADEP (e-mail only) CC: Daniel Sammarco, P.E., PADEP (e-mail only) Michael P. Kutney, P.G., PADEP (e-mail only) Richard E. Tallman, P.E., PADEP (e-mail only) Amiee Bollinger, PADEP (e-mail only) Anthony Lutkus, PADEP (e-mail only) James Rebarchak, PADEP (e-mail only) Sachin Shankar, P.E., PADEP (e-mail only) Jillian Gallagher, PADEP (e-mail only) Ashley Davis, PADEP (e-mail only) Robert Fogel, PADEP (e-mail only) Neil Shader, PADEP (e-mail only) Craig Lambeth, Esq., PADEP (e-mail only) Marianne Morano, East Rockhill Township (e-mail only) County of Bucks (e-mail only) Rockhill Environmental Preservation Alliance (e-mail only) Julie Goodman, PhD, Gradient Corp. (e-mail only) Kelly Bailey, CIH, KBC LLC (e-mail only) Bryan Bandli, PhD, RJ Lee Group (e-mail only) Matthew Weikel, P.G., EARTHRES (e-mail only) Joe Kim, P.E., EARTHRES (e-mail only) Kristian Witt, CMI (e-mail only) Mark E. Kendrick, Hanson (e-mail only) Michael C. Lewis, CHMM, Hanson (e-mail only) Timothy S. Jacobs, P.E., Hanson (e-mail only) Frank Tedesco, Hanson (e-mail only) David A. Assalone, Esg., Hanson (e-mail only) Robert, J. Schena, Esq., Fox Rothschild LLP (e-mail only) **Environmental File**



December 3, 2021

Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania LLC Attn: Mr. Andrew Gutshall, P.G. 7660 Imperial Way Allentown, PA 18195-1040

Re: Rock Hill Quarry December 5, 2018 Cessation Order Hanson Aggregates Pennsylvania LLC Rock Hill Quarry Operation Surface Mining Permit No. 7974SM1 East Rockhill Township, Bucks County

Dear Mr. Gutshall:

It is DEP's interpretation of applicable law, consistent with the purpose of the Noncoal Surface Mining Conservation and Reclamation Act to prevent and eliminate hazards to public health and safety, that removal of the required minimum tonnage of minerals is precluded by DEP's December 5, 2018 order ceasing mining and rock crushing-sizing activities at the Rock Hill Quarry.

At such time that DEP makes a decision regarding the status of the ongoing cessation, it will evaluate the requirement that the permittee remove a minimum of 500 tons of minerals in the preceding calendar year in order to be considered an active operation.

This letter is neither an order nor any other final action of DEP. It neither imposes nor waives any enforcement action available to DEP under any of its statutes. If DEP determines that an enforcement action is appropriate, you will be notified of the action.

If you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact me at 570.621.3118.

Sincerely,

Gary A. Latsha District Mining Manager Bureau of District Mining Operations

5 West Laurel Boulevard | Pottsville, PA 17901-2522

Hanson Aggregates PA, LLC

December 3, 2021

John J. Stefanko, Deputy Secretary cc: Daniel Sammarco, P.E., Director DMO Daniel Koury, ADMM Michael Kutney, P.G. EGM Craig Lambeth, Office of Chief Counsel Patrick Patterson, SERO Sachin Shankar, SERO James Rebarchak, SERO Jillian Gallagher, SERO Neil Shader, Director of Communications Virginia Nurk, ECRS, SERO Rob Fogel, CRRC DEP Marianne Morano – East Rockhill Township Manager File MS1-RockHill (12-21)

GAL:cmb