Executive Summary
25 Pa. Code, Chapter 109
Safe Drinking Water Program Fees

The proposed rulemaking is intended to supplement state costs for administering the Drinking
Water Program. The proposed fees total nearly $8.4 million and will replace approximately 75%
of the state costs coming from the General Fund. The proposed annual fees will most likely be
passed on to the 10.7 million customers of these public water systems as a user fee.

The proposed annual fees apply to all community water systems (CWS) (count = 2,068) and all
bottled, vended, retail and bulk (BVRB) water systems (count = 171). The amended permit fees
apply to all public water systems (count = 9,429), including community water systems,
noncommunity water systems and BVRBs. Due to the current economic climate and the fact that
the majority of noncommunity water systems are small businesses, the Department has opted not
to require annual fees for noncommunity water systems at this time.

As per the Safe Drinking Water Act and regulations, all fees will be paid into the State Treasury
into a special restricted revenue account in the General Fund known as the Safe Drinking Water
Account administered by the Department. The funds may only be used for such purposes as are
authorized under the Act.

At least 23 states in the nation charge annual fees to supplement program costs. Three additional
states (Kentucky, Maryland and Oregon) anticipate promulgating annual fees within the next few
years.

The proposed rulemaking was presented to the TAC on March 9, 2010. The TAC formed a
subcommittee to evaluate the impact of the rulemaking, and presented their recommendations to
TAC at their meeting on June 18, 2010. TAC made several recommendations. Some of TAC’s
recommendations were incorporated into the proposed rulemaking. Other recommendations
were incorporated into the preamble as a means to solicit further public comment.

Annual Fees.

The proposed annual fees for community water systems are based on population, and range from
$300 to $60,000. The per-person costs range from $0.50 - $12.00/person/year.

Proposed Community Water System Annual Fees (Based on Population)

Population Served Annual Fee Cost/Person/Year
25-100 $300 $3.00 - $12.00
101 — 500 $500 $1.00 - $4.95
501 — 1,000 $1,500 $1.50 - $2.99
1,001 — 2,000 $3,000 $1.50 - $3.00
2,001 — 3,300 $5,000 $1.50 - $2.50
3,301 — 5,000 $7,500 $1.50 - $2.27
5,001 — 10,000 $10,000 $1.00 - $2.00
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10,001 — 25,000 $20,000 $0.80 - $2.00
25,001 — 50,000 $30,000 $0.60 - $1.20
50,001 — 75,000 $40,000 $0.53 - $0.80
75,001 — 100,000 $50,000 $0.50 - $0.67
100,001 or more $60,000 < $0.60

The Department provided fee estimates for the following additional options at the request of

TAC:

1. Annual fee based on the number of service connections (using a flat rate per connection,
and no minimum or maximum fees).
2. Annual fee based on the number of service connections (using a sliding scale rate per

connection and a minimum fee).

Comparison of Proposed Annual Fees and Options #1 and #2

Population # Service Proposed Fees Option #1 Option #2
Served Connections (Per Pop) (Flat Rate per (Sliding Rate
Connection) per Connection)
25 9 $300 $15.75 $250.00
125 46 $500 $80.50 $250.00
750 278 $1,500 $486.50 $903.50
3,300 1,222 $5,000 $2,138.50 $3,971.50
10,000 3,704 $10,000 $6,482.00 $11,112.00
50,000 18,518 $30,000 $32,406.50 $32,406.50
100,000 37,037 $50,000 $64,814.75 $55,555.50
120,000 45,052 $60,000 $78,841.00 $67,578.00
160,000 59,259 $60,000 $103,703.25 $88,888.50
250,000 92,592 $60,000 $162,036.00 $138,888.00
660,000 244 444 $60,000 $427,777.00 $244,444.00
820,000 303,704 $60,000 $531,482.00 $303,704.00
1,600,000 592,593 $60,000 $1,037,037.75 $592,593.00

Major changes to the permit fees are as follows:

Population Served Major Permit | Minor Permit | Bottled | Bottled finished
25-100 $300 $100 $500 $100

101 — 500 $600 $250 $750 $250

501 —3,300 $1,000 $500 $1,000 | $500

3,301 — 10,000 $2,500 $750 $2,500 $750

10,001 — 50,000 $5,000 $1,000 $5,000 | $1,000

50,001 — 100,000 $7,500 $2,500 $7,500 $2,500

100,001 or more $10,000 $5,000 $10,000 | $5,000

Other permit fees were also modified. However, other than the $100 fee for operating permits,
the other changes are minor.
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