# Final Minutes of the August 14, 2013, Meeting of the Water Resources Advisory Committee (WRAC)

The regular meeting of WRAC was called to order at 9:38 a.m. by Chair Robert Traver on Wednesday, August 14, 2013, in Room 105 of the Rachel Carson State Office Building, Harrisburg, PA.

# The following committee members were present:

Myron Arnowitt, Clean Water Action
Harry Campbell, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Andrew Gavin, Susquehanna River Basin Commission
Arthur Gazdik, Ross Township
John Jackson, Stroud Water Research Center
Cory Miller, University Area Joint Authority
John Schombert, 3 Rivers Wet Weather
Jeff Shanks, Waste Management
Robert Traver, Villanova University
Chuck Wunz, Wunz Associates

## The following committee members were not present:

Don Bluedorn, Babst, Calland, Clements, Zomnir Robert Cavett, Merck & Co. Mary Felley, League of Women Voters Jeff Hines, York Water Supply Gary Merritt, NSG Jennifer Reed-Harry, PennAg Industries Association Stephen Rhoads, East Resources Management

#### The following DEP staff members were present:

Sean Gimbel, Office of Water Management
Kelly Heffner, Deputy Secretary for Water Management
Lee McDonnell, Point & Nonpoint Source Management
Nicki Kasi, Point & Nonpoint Source Management
Brian Schlauderaff, Point & Nonpoint Source Management
Jay Braund, Point & Nonpoint Source Management
Kim Childe, Regulatory Counsel

#### The following guests were also present:

Genie Bausinger, Milton Regional Sewer Authority Neal Brofee, PennDOT Josie Gaskey, PA Coal Alliance Shawn Good, PA Chamber Ruth Hocker, Chesapeake Bay Foundation Paul Marchetti, PENNVEST Mike McCaskey, Energy Works BioPower Sarah Miller, PA Builders Association Kate Millikan, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney Bryan Ruhl, PennDOT Barry Wert, PA Stormwater Coalition

# Approval of Minutes -

A motion to approve the minutes of the November 28, 2012, meeting was made by John Schombert and seconded by Art Gazdik. The minutes were approved by unanimous vote.

#### Election of New Chair & Vice Chair -

The election of Chair and Vice Chair were conducted as per the requirements established in Article IV of WRAC's bylaws, which states "the officers of the Committee shall be elected by a majority vote of members present at the first meeting of the Committee of the state fiscal year.

The election of Chair was conducted first and Dr. Robert Traver was elected as WRAC Chair. Cory Miller nominated Dr. Traver to serve as WRAC Chair and Charles Wunz seconded the nomination. The vote was unanimous with Dr. Traver abstaining.

The election of Vice Chair followed with Dr. Traver soliciting nominations for Vice Chair from the floor. Art Gazdik nominated Don Bluedorn as Vice Chair and Jeff Shanks seconded the nomination. Dr. Traver nominated Robert Cavett as Vice Chair and Charles Wunz seconded the nomination. Upon discussion of the nominations Mr. Gazdik withdrew the nomination of Don Bluedorn and John Schombert seconded the motion to withdraw the nomination. No other nominations were made from the floor and a vote was taken on the nomination of Robert Cavett as Vice Chair. The vote was unanimous with Dr. Traver abstaining.

## **Nutrient Credit Trading Program: Proposed Program Enhancements –**

Deputy Secretary Heffner; Lee McDonnell, Director of the Bureau of Point and Non-Point Source Management; and Veronica Kasi, Program Manager Division of Technical and Financial Assistance, provided an informational presentation on proposed program enhancements to the Nutrient Credit Trading Program. Dr. Traver asked that DEP involve WRAC as the Department moves forward with the proposal.

#### **General Discussion** –

No comments were made by the Committee.

#### **Public Comment Period –**

No comments were made by the public.

#### **Change Next Meeting Date -**

The next scheduled meeting for WRAC was changed from November 20, 2013, to November 13, 2013.

**Adjourn** – The meeting adjourned at 11:32 a.m.