DRAFT

Lower Susquehanna Water Resources Regional Committee Meeting

December 6, 2004 DEP- Rachel Carson State Office Building, Harrisburg, PA

Meeting Summary

Attendance:

Committee members in attendance:

William Achor Don Baldwin Tom Beauduy Jolene Chinchilli Betty Conner Melanie Hesse Chris Hoffman James Hostetter Michael Kyle Walter Leis Thomas Mealy William Morris

Jeffrey Osman Craig Robertson Donald Robinson Steven J. Seidl Kirk Stoner

Committee members not in attendance:

Jineen Boyle Ronald Evanko Ed Goodhart Cynthia Hitz **Gerrit Strathmeyer**

Others in attendance:

DEP

Pam Bishop John Hines David Jostenski Lori Mohr Leslie Sarvis Sue Weaver

Matt Genchur, PA Rural Water Association John Seitz, York Co. Planning Commission

Administrative Items:

Finalize October Meeting Summary

Additions/corrections: The minutes from the October 4, 2004 meeting were approved with a correction under the Growing Greener section: Motion failed to pass, as ten would be required should be changed to twelve.

Motion was made by: William Achor Motion Second: Michael Kyle Motion was carried. Tom Yeager Scott Gebhardt

Statewide Committee Update

William Morris stated the sub-committees are continuing to discuss items such as public participation, developing criteria for critical water planning areas and sources of funding for water planning.

Attendance/Quorum Issues

A discussion was held on the importance of attendance for committee members at future meetings. Several committee members suggested that DEP send a letter to members who have missed past meetings to stress the importance of their role in developing the water plan.

Comments from the public

None.

Election of Chair and Vice Chair

Donald Robinson nominated Betty Conner to serve as Chair of the Committee.

Motion was made by: Donald Robinson Motion Second: Michael Kyle Motion was carried.

Chris Hoffman nominated William Achor to serve as Vice Chair of the Committee.

Motion was made to close nominations by: James Hostetter Motion Second: Donald Robinson Motion was carried.

Public Participation-Regional Public Meeting/Hearing:

Pam Bishop provided an overview of the requirements of Act 220 regarding public meetings. Lori Mohr proposed May 16, 2005 as a target date for the public meeting. Committee members established a sub-committee to finalize the list of regional priorities and provide descriptions of each priority. Sub-committee members are:

William Achor	Betty Conner	Walter Leis	Steven Seidl
Jolene Chinchilli	Michael Kyle	Craig Robertson	

Draft CWPA Process and Criteria Review and Comment:

Sue Weaver presented the draft criteria and standards by which regional water resources committees and the Statewide Committee shall review and make recommendations for designation of Critical Water Planning Areas (CWPAs).

Committee members established a sub-committee to review and comment on the draft criteria and standards for CWPAs. Sub-committee members are:

Tom Beauduy Walter Leis Craig Robertson

Draft Regional Framework Review and Comment:

DEP staff explained the Draft Regional Component Outline and covered major topics of the document. Committee members should provide comments at the next meeting.

February Meeting, Wrap-Up and Adjourn:

The next meeting will be held on February 14, 2005 at the DEP Southcentral Regional Office in Harrisburg. The meeting adjourned at 2:10 PM.