### Solid Waste Advisory Committee/Recycling Fund Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes of June 6, 2019

### The following members were present:

Robert Watts, Vice Chair Eli Brill Gordon Burgoyne Michael Forbeck John Frederick Representative Matt Gabler (RFAC) Joyce Hatala Tanya McCoy-Caretti Timothy O'Donnell Matthew Quesenberry Joseph Reinhart Shannon Reiter Joanne Shafer

### The following members were absent:

Michel Nestor, Chair Gary Roberts Edward Vogel James Welty Senator Gene Yaw (RFAC) Randall York Senator John Yudichak (RFAC) Gerald Zona

# The following guests and Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) staff members were present:

Meredith Barney Elizabeth Bertha Wayne Bowen David Buzzell	DEP Bureau of Waste Management (BWM) Vogel Holding, Inc. (on behalf of Edward Vogel) Pennsylvania Recycling Markets Center (PennRMC) Pennsylvania Waste Industries Association (PWIA)
Abbey Cadden	DEP Policy Office
Amy Mazzella diBosco	Greater Lebanon Refuse Authority/Professional Recyclers of PA (PROP)
Jim Erb	American Petroleum Institute (API)
Laura Henry	DEP BWM/Liaison to the Committees
Kris Hoffman	DEP Bureau of Radiation Protection (BRP)
Alaina Krayeski	DEP BWM/Recording Secretary
Leda Lacomba	Office of Representative Matt Gabler
Jim Lambert	Monroe County Solid Waste Authority
Jason Leck	Pennsylvania Independent Waste Haulers' Association (PIWHA) (on behalf of Gary Roberts)
Teresa Irvin McCurdy	TD Connections

Ali Morris	DEP BWM
Keith Salador	Citizens' Advisory Council (CAC) (on behalf of James Welty)
Lisa Schaefer	County Commissioners' Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP)
Ben Seiber	DEP BRP
Christopher Solloway	DEP BWM
Jennifer Summers	PROP
Bryan Werner	DEP BRP

# SWAC/RFAC Call to Order; Approval of Minutes of December 12, 2018 (SWAC and RFAC); Old Business

Robert Watts, Vice Chair, called the June 6, 2019, joint Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) and Recycling Fund Advisory Committee (RFAC) meeting to order at 10:00 am.

Mr. Watts oversaw the election of officers for the Solid Waste Advisory Committee, reporting out from the Nominations Committee that no other members had expressed interest in running for the offices of Chair and Vice Chair. After calling for additional nominations from the floor and receiving none, Mr. Watts made a motion to re-elect the current officers; seconded by Shannon Reiter. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Watts called for a motion to approve the minutes of the December 12, 2018, Solid Waste Advisory Committee meeting. Shannon Reiter made a motion to approve the minutes; seconded by Tim O'Donnell. The motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Watts called for a motion to approve the minutes of the December 12, 2018, Recycling Fund Advisory Committee meeting. Jason Leck requested he be listed as an alternate attendee for Gary Roberts. Joyce Hatala made a motion to approve the minutes with Mr. Leck's change; seconded by Shannon Reiter. The motion carried unanimously.

#### Discussion/Action Item: Draft Proposed SWAC and RFAC Bylaws

Laura Henry led discussion about the SWAC and RFAC bylaws, reporting on behalf of the Bylaws Subcommittee. The main change requested to be made was to allow RFAC legislative alternates to have voting proxy. The other goal was to remove both standing committees from SWAC and reestablish RFAC as its own committee in accordance with the statutes. The Bylaws Subcommittee drafted revised bylaws for SWAC and new bylaws for RFAC incorporating these and other changes. Ms. Henry explained that there would need to be separate motions made to remove the Standing Committees, adopt the revised SWAC bylaws, and adopt the new RFAC bylaws.

Mr. Watts asked for a motion to remove the Standing Committees from the SWAC; moved by Shannon Reiter and seconded by John Frederick. The motion carried unanimously.

Joyce Hatala then made a motion to adopt the SWAC bylaws, seconded by Mr. Frederick; the motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Reiter made a motion to adopt the RFAC bylaws, also seconded by Mr. Frederick. The motion carried unanimously.

# Draft Proposed Revisions to DEP's Guidance Document on Radioactivity Monitoring at Solid Waste Processing and Disposal Facilities

Bryan Werner, Acting Director, Bureau of Radiation Protection, reviewed changes made to DEP's Guidance Document on Radioactivity Monitoring at Solid Waste Processing and Disposal Facilities, indicating the Bureau's intent to publish the draft proposed document in the *Pennsylvania Bulletin* for public comment. Committee members presented Mr. Werner with questions and comments about the changes that were made. No major concerns were raised.

### **Public Comment; New Business**

During New Business, the committee inquired about the Act 101 Workgroup and its recommendations to DEP; the status of authorization of Convenience Centers; and whether there was any movement in the Legislature to amend or replace the CDRA, citing continued challenges with management of covered devices under the current law. Ms. Reiter also presented information about the Multi Agency Litter Survey that Keep Pennsylvania Beautiful is doing in cooperation with DEP and PennDOT. Joe Reinhart made a request for an update on DEP staffing and Permitting Efficiency initiatives.

Representative Gabler spoke to the topic of CDRA Legislation, indicating it is still of great interest to the General Assembly, but that appeasing all stakeholders continues to be difficult. He welcomed ideas to address the challenges of the current law.

No public comments were raised.

Mr. Watts asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Ms. Hatala made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Eli Brill; and the motion carried unanimously, and the meeting adjourned at 10:55 a.m.