COALEX State Comparison Report - 238
December, 1992

Shari Zook

Division of Reclamation
Department of Natural Resources
1855 Fountain Square Court, Bldg. H
Columbus, Ohio 43224-1387

TOPIC: PERMIT AND ACREAGE FEES (Updates Reports Nos. 147 & 17)

INQUIRY: Please survey the IMCC member states for the following information on coal mining
permits: current fee requirements for permit applications, per acre charges, and permit renewal
and revision fees. Describe the charges, where appropriate, e.g., indicate if the acreage fee is per
"bonded acre".

SURVEY RESULTS: A survey of eleven IMCC member states was conducted via mailed
guestionnaire. The results of the survey appear below and are summarized in tabular form (see
attached table). Copies of a 1990 survey of IMCC states plus two surveys of western states are
also attached.
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RESULTS OF THE SURVEY

ALABAMA
Permit application fee: $ 2,500 per application + acreage fee.

Acreage fee: $ 25 per acre bonded with each application.
Renewal fee: $ 500 + S 25 per acre bonded.

Revision fee: Ranges from S 100 to S 1,500.
$ 100 - Transfer fee
S 250 - Revision to add small acreage
S 750 - Revision to change increment lines or reclamation plans
S 1,500 - Major revisions requiring public notice

Do fees cover actual processing time: Yes, Coal fees are revised when necessary. [Non-coal fees
must be revised by statute change.]

Statute/regulation cite: Code of Alabama, 1975, Section 9-16-83(a) authorized rules and
regulations effective 1982. Regulation Section 880-X-8B-.07.

ARKANSAS
Permit application fee:
$ 500.



$250 review fee + a S 250 administrative and enforcement fee for greater than 250 ton
exploration.

Acreage fee: $ 500 or S 30 per acre annual fee for all areas which will be affected during the
following 12-month period, whichever is greater.

Annual fee: This annual administrative and enforcement fee is submitted on the anniversary date
of the permit and each subsequent year.

Renewal fee: There are no references to fees under the renewal regulations.

Revision fee: There are no references to fees under the revision regulations.

Do fees cover actual processing time: The permit review fee was intended to cover review of the
application and all revisions submitted by the applicant during the permit review process; the fee
is inadequate to compensate for the actual man-hours involved in the review process.
Statute/regulation cite: Arkansas Surface Coal Mining and Reclamation Code (Code) Section
771.25.

ILLINOIS

Permit application fee: See below.

Acreage fee: $ 125 per bonded acre for surface mined land.

Annual fee: $ 5 per acre for each year bond is in force for all other areas. Can be paid in annual
increments.

Renewal fee: None.

Revision fee: None.

Do fees cover actual processing time: Yes.
Statute/regulation cite: 62 lll Adm Code 1777.17.
INDIANA

Permit application fee: None.

Acreage fee: None.

Renewal fee: None.

Revision fee: None.

Do fees cover actual processing time: $ 0.055 per ton of mined coal paid by all permittees to



cover the state share of program costs.
Statute/regulation cite: IC 13-4.1-3-2.
KENTUCKY
Permit application fee:

$ 25.00 per year;

License fee: $100.00 per year.
Acreage fee: Bond, when required:

$ 100 - S 500 per acre/minimum bond

$ 2,000 land affected
Annual fee: See application and license fees.

Renewal fee: See above.

Revision fee: Under 10% change in total acres no fee. Over 10% change in total acres fee is
same as permit fee.

Do fees cover actual processing time: Yes.
Statute/regulation cite: 405 KAR 5:010 and 405 KAR 5:020.
MARYLAND
Permit application fee: See below.
Acreage fee:
S 12 per acre per year to a maximum of $ 1,000.
S 30 per acre reclamation fee.
Annual fee: See above.
Renewal fee: Same as application (acreage) fee. No reclamation fee.
Revision fee: S 100 plus new acreage fee, if acreage is added.
Do fees cover actual processing time: Yes.
Statute/regulation cite: Annotated Code of Maryland, Natural Resources Article, Section 7-6A-07.
MISSOURI

Permit application fee: $ 100 per permit.

Acreage fee: $ 100 per acre. Fees are on all acreage permitted, not necessarily bonded; Fees are



due when permit application is deemed complete.
Annual fee: $ 100 per permit.
Renewal fee: S 100 per permit.
Revision fee:
$ 100 for major revisions.
S 0 for minor revisions.
Do fees cover actual processing time: No.
Statute/regulation cite: 444.820.1 RSMO Cum Supp 1990 (Surface Mining Law); 10 CSR 40-6.010(6) -
Rules.
OHIO
Permit application fee: None.
Acreage fee: $ 75 per acre.
Renewal fee: None.
Revision fee: None.
Do fees cover actual processing time: Yes.
Statute/regulation cite: 1513.07(B)(1).
PENNSYLVANIA
Permit application fee:
S 250 per application for surface coal mines, underground mines and coal preparation
plants.
$500 per application for coal refuse disposal operations plus $ 10 per acre for acreage in
excess of 50 acres.
Acreage fee: $ 50 per acre reclamation fee for new surface coal mines.
Renewal fee: S 250 per application.
Revision fee: None.

Do fees cover actual processing time: No.

Statute/regulation cite: 25 Pa Code Section 86.17.



VIRGINIA
Permit application fee: None.

Acreage fee: $ 12 per acre or any fraction thereof for the total acreage permitted.

Annual fee: S 6 per acre or any fraction thereof for areas disturbed under the permit. Paid on the
permit anniversary.

Renewal fee: See above.

Revision fee: Acreage fee applies if revision is to add additional acreage.

Do fees cover actual processing time: No.

Statute/regulation cite: 45.1-235 E of Virginia Coal Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of

1979; VA.CSMRR 480-03-19.777.17 Permit fees.

WEST VIRGINIA

Permit application fee: $ 1,000.00

Acreage fee: $ 1,000 to $ 5,000 site specific bond per acre or fraction thereof.

Renewal fee: $ 2,000.00

Revision fee: None.

Do fees cover actual processing time: No.

Statute/regulation cite: New Permit: 22A-3-8(f); Renewal: 22A-3-19(a)(4).

ATTACHMENTS

A. TABLE OF FEES

B. COALEX State COMPARISON REPORT - 147

C. COMPARISON OF MINING PERMIT FEES FOR FIVE WESTERN States, compiled January,
1990.

D. COMPARISON OF MINING PERMIT/REGULATORY FEES IN WESTERN States, compiled by
Mark Moxley, Wyoming DEQ-LQD, December, 1991.

Survey conducted by: IMCC and Joyce Zweben Scall

TABLE OF FEES (Reformatted from original)

ALABAMA
Permit Fees: $ 2,500 + acre fee



Acre Fees: S 25 per bonded acre per application
Renew/Annual Fees: $ 500 + $ 25 per bonded acre
Revise Fees:

$ 100 - Transfer fee

S 250 - Revise: small acreage

S 750 - Revise: reclamation plans

$ 1,500 - Revise: major
Cover Time: Yes

ARKANSAS
Permit Fees: S 500 ($250 for review + $ 250 for admin. & enforcement)
Acre Fees: $ 500 or S 30 per acre affected*
Renew/Annual Fees: *These fees are paid on the anniversary of permit
No renewal fee
Revise Fees: None - Though intended to cover processing time, fees do not cover actual man-hours.

Cover Time: No

ILLINOIS
Permit Fees: See acre fees
Acre Fees: $ 125 per bonded acre
Renew/Annual Fees: $ 5 per acre each year bond in force
No renewal fee
Revise Fees: None
Cover Time: Yes

INDIANA
Permit Fees: None
Acre Fees: None
Renew/Annual Fees: None
Revise Fees: None
Cover Time: S.055 per ton - Per ton fee of mined coal is intended to cover state's share of
program costs.

KENTUCKY
Permit Fees: $ 25 + $ 100 license per year
Acre Fees: Bond: $ 100 - $ 500 per acre/min.; $ 2,000 land affected
Renew/Annual Fees: See permit fees
Revise Fees: Under 10% acre change = no fee; over 10% same as permit fees
Cover Time: Yes

MARYLAND
Permit Fees: See acre fees
Acre Fees: $ 12 per acre per year to max. of $ 1,000; $ 30 per acre reclam. fee



Renew/Annual Fees: Annual and renew fees are same as acre fees
No reclam. fees

Revise Fees: $ 100 + new acre fee if acreage added

Cover Time: Yes

MISSOURI
Permit Fees: S 100 per permit
Acre Fees: $ 100 per acre permitted, not bonded
Renew/Annual Fees: S 100 per permit: annual and renewal fees
Revise Fees: $ 100 - Fee is for major revisions. There is no fee for minor revisions.
Cover Time: No

OHIO
Permit Fees: None
Acre Fees: S 75 per acre
Renew/Annual Fees: None
Revise Fees: None
Cover Time: Yes

PENNSYLVANIA

Permit Fees: $ 250 per application - Fee for surface coal mines, underground mines and coal
preparation plants. Application fee for coal refuse disposal operations =$ 500 + $ 10

per acre for acreage in excess of 50 acres.

Acre Fees: $ 50 per acre reclam. fee for new mines.

Renew/Annual Fees: $ 250 to renew

Revise Fees: None

Cover Time: No

VIRGINIA
Permit Fees: None
Acre Fees: S 12 per acre permitted
Renew/Annual Fees: S 6 per acre on permit anniversary
Revise Fees: Acreage fee applies if revision adds acreage
Cover Time: No

WEST VIRGINIA
Permit Fees: $ 1,000
Acre Fees: Bond: $ 1,000 - $ 5,000 per acre or fraction
Renew/Annual Fees: $ 2,000 to renew
Revise Fees: None
Cover Time: No






Accessibility Report





		Filename: 

		COALEX_Report_238.pdf









		Report created by: 

		



		Organization: 

		







[Enter personal and organization information through the Preferences > Identity dialog.]



Summary



The checker found no problems in this document.





		Needs manual check: 0



		Passed manually: 0



		Failed manually: 0



		Skipped: 3



		Passed: 29



		Failed: 0







Detailed Report





		Document





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Accessibility permission flag		Passed		Accessibility permission flag must be set



		Image-only PDF		Passed		Document is not image-only PDF



		Tagged PDF		Passed		Document is tagged PDF



		Logical Reading Order		Skipped		Document structure provides a logical reading order



		Primary language		Passed		Text language is specified



		Title		Passed		Document title is showing in title bar



		Bookmarks		Passed		Bookmarks are present in large documents



		Color contrast		Skipped		Document has appropriate color contrast



		Page Content





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged content		Passed		All page content is tagged



		Tagged annotations		Passed		All annotations are tagged



		Tab order		Passed		Tab order is consistent with structure order



		Character encoding		Passed		Reliable character encoding is provided



		Tagged multimedia		Passed		All multimedia objects are tagged



		Screen flicker		Passed		Page will not cause screen flicker



		Scripts		Passed		No inaccessible scripts



		Timed responses		Passed		Page does not require timed responses



		Navigation links		Passed		Navigation links are not repetitive



		Forms





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Tagged form fields		Passed		All form fields are tagged



		Field descriptions		Passed		All form fields have description



		Alternate Text





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Figures alternate text		Passed		Figures require alternate text



		Nested alternate text		Passed		Alternate text that will never be read



		Associated with content		Passed		Alternate text must be associated with some content



		Hides annotation		Passed		Alternate text should not hide annotation



		Other elements alternate text		Passed		Other elements that require alternate text



		Tables





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Rows		Passed		TR must be a child of Table, THead, TBody, or TFoot



		TH and TD		Passed		TH and TD must be children of TR



		Headers		Passed		Tables should have headers



		Regularity		Passed		Tables must contain the same number of columns in each row and rows in each column



		Summary		Skipped		Tables must have a summary



		Lists





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		List items		Passed		LI must be a child of L



		Lbl and LBody		Passed		Lbl and LBody must be children of LI



		Headings





		Rule Name		Status		Description



		Appropriate nesting		Passed		Appropriate nesting










Back to Top

