OTC Model Rule: Guidance for Implementation of Aftermarket Catalytic Converter Rule
4.1.2014 Draft

1. Terms in brackets ([]) are placeholders for content that is variable from State to State.

2. Please note that States opting to promulgate rules based on this model rule that this
guidance document addresses must comply with State specific administrative requirements and
procedures as well as state specific statutes/laws that may govern the scope of the rules, as
well as State specific compliance and enforcement regulations.

Guidance for Implementation of “Model Rule for Sale of Aftermarket Catalytic
Converters”

Frequently Asked Questions about Aftermarket Converters

What is a California-approved aftermarket catalytic converter?

California anti-tampering legislation prohibits the installation of any aftermarket,
modified, or add-on device that may affect vehicle emissions. If the California Air
Resources Board (CARB) determines that a device will not increase emissions, it may
exempt the device from the anti-tampering legislation.

After CARB has made the required determination the Executive Officer (or designee)
issues an Executive Order exempting the aftermarket part, which approves it for its
intended use. Once CARB has issued the exemption, the device is approved for its
intended use, and may be legally sold and installed.

Aftermarket catalytic converters, which are catalytic converters other than those from
the vehicle manufacturer, must have an anti-tampering exemption from CARB to be
approved for sale in California. Catalytic converters from a vehicle manufacturer that
are identical to the converter(s) originally installed on the vehicle (OEM - original
equipment of the manufacturer) do not require CARB approval, since approval of the
OEM converter is included in the vehicle's certification when new.

How do California-approved aftermarket catalytic converters differ from EPA-certified
aftermarket catalytic converters?

Both CARB and EPA certify that the proper installation of aftermarket catalytic
converters does not constitute emissions-related tampering. The following table
illustrates key differences between the EPA and California programs.

Comparison of EPA and California Aftermarket Catalytic Converter Programs
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Performance Standard

EPA

California

Emissions

HC/CO/NOx reductions
of 70%/70%/30%

Must equal the vehicle’s
original certification level (e.g.,
TLEV, LEV, ULEV, etc.)

Must be OBDII-compatible, if it
is an OBD equipped vehicles

Used converters no longer
allowed

Certification/Testing

Manufacturer certifies to
EPA that its catalytic
converters meet the
requirements

CARB reviews test results from
independent labs converters to
certify

EOs are issued to specific
engine families

CARB audit-tests converters to
be sure that they meet
performance standards

Warranty — emissions

25,000 miles

50,000 miles

Warranty — catalyst
housing

50,000 miles

50,000 miles

Warranty — coverage

Catalytic converter

Catalytic converter, parts, and
labor

Labeling

A series of letters and
numbers designating:

e Whether the
converter is
new/used

e The Manufacturer

e The Vehicle

e Date of
Manufacture

The following must be visible
on the converter when installed
on the vehicle:

e Direction of exhaust flow

e Manufacturer’s part
number

e Executive Order number

e Date of Manufacture
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What types of catalytic converters are currently legal for use on [State] vehicles and
what changes will occur once the new rules take effect?

The table below summarizes the types of catalysts that can currently be used, and what
options will be available once the regulatory changes take effect.

Catalytic Converter Type Currently Legal for Use? Legal for Use Once New
Rules Take Effect?

New Original Equipment Yes Yes

Manufacturer (OEM)

New Aftermarket Yes Yes, but converter models

sold or installed on or after
[Start Date] must be
approved by California
Executive Order (although
in some cases a waiver can
be obtained from this
requirement — see below)

Used OEM Converters [Does State Allow Now?] | [If State Opts To Allow
Used Converters]

Yes, but see below.
[Else]

No

Used Aftermarket [Does State Allow Now?] | No
Converters

How can someone tell if a new, CARB approved aftermarket catalytic converter is
available for a customer’s vehicle?

You can access a searchable listing of approved aftermarket catalytic converters at the
CARB'’s website: http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aftermktcat/aftermktcatdbase.htm.
Executive Orders for pre-OBD Il and OBD Il converters can be sorted by Executive
Order number, or by converter manufacturer. It should be noted that Executive Orders
can be revoked if the aftermarket part was found not to meet standards in the field, so it
is recommended that this database be checked.

In the event that an appropriate converter cannot be found in the database, also check
the printable list of approved aftermarket converters
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aftermktcat/exemptcat09.pdf, which often is updated
sooner than the database.

CARB approved aftermarket catalytic converters sold after January 1, 2009, will also
have the ARB Executive Order number permanently labeled on the converter shell.
Before installation, you should consult the converter manufacturer’s application catalog
to verify the converter model is designed to fit your specific vehicle application and that
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it is specifically approved for use on that vehicle. Statements such as “approved for use
on OBD Il vehicles” don’'t necessarily mean that the approval is valid for all OBDII
vehicles.

Can a federally certified aftermarket catalytic converter be installed on a vehicle?

No. With the exception noted in the next question, as of [Start Date] only converters
allowed by a CARB Executive Order are allowed to be installed. This includes vehicles
that meet California emission standards (CA vehicles), Federal emission standards (49
state vehicles), or both California and Federal emission standards (50 state vehicles).

What happens if the original catalytic converter is still under warranty?
You cannot install an aftermarket converter if the original converter is still under
warranty. An OEM converter must be used as a replacement.

What if there’s no CARB approved aftermarket catalytic converter for my customer’s
vehicle?

In the case that a CARB approved aftermarket catalytic converter cannot be obtained
an OEM converter must be installed.

If an OEM converter cannot be found then a CARB approved aftermarket converter
must be installed on the vehicle that has the same level of precious metal and is
designed for the vehicle’s configuration although the converter may not necessarily be
designed for the same make, model, and model year.

In a situation where an CARB approved converter that has the same level of precious
metal and is designed for the vehicle’s configuration is also not available, then you
should contact [State Representative] to determine if the particular vehicle can be
granted a waiver to allow for the installation of a federally certified aftermarket converter
and how to go through the process of obtaining the waiver.

Information cannot be found on precious metal loading in converters. How is it
determined if a converter has an equivalent level of loading?

The equivalency of loading may be determined by several methods. First, if a CARB
converter is designed for a vehicle of similar engine displacement and is used in a
similar exhaust configuration and placement, then that converter may be the best fit.
Second, if there is an equivalent CARB converter available for a CA-certified vehicle of
the same year, make and model of federal vehicle, then that converter may be used. In
both cases, the installer needs to exercise prudent discretion in determining the best fit
and compatibility. If the installer has any questions, he or she should contact [State
Representative].

Are used OEM converters rebuilt with new or refurbished parts allowed to be installed?
No.
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Are used OEM converters that are removed from a vehicle without alteration allowed to
be installed?

[If State Opts To Allow Used Converters]

Yes but only under certain conditions. Used OEM converters can only be installed on
vehicles equipped with OBD Il. The used converter must then be monitored by the
OBD system. Furthermore used OEM converters must be designed in order to fit the
configuration for the vehicle, has to have an equivalent the level of precious metal
loading, and otherwise function as if it were the originally installed converter.

[Else]
No.

CARB certified aftermarket converters don’t come in direct fit assemblies. What should
be done?

Third-party manufacturers are allowed to connect pipes to universal fit catalytic
converters made by other manufacturers and market them under the original CARB
Executive Order. The universal converters can only be used in these assemblies for the
engine families listed in the original CARB Executive Order, which can be searched
here — http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/aftermktcat/aftermktcatdbase.htm.. Finally, shops
can install and properly fit the piping for a universal converter so that it can be installed
on a variety of vehicles as long as the converter was issued an EO by CARB for those
vehicles.

What is the timeline for the new requirements for installing CARB aftermarket catalytic
converters?

[There is no set timeline laid out in the model guidance. OTC recommends that
each state reach out to the stakeholders in their state to develop an appropriate
timeline that considers the state’s fleet make up and any other factors.]
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Determining the Proper Aftermarket Catalytic Converter To Install

Yos Is the vehicle No
CA or 50 state
certified?

sthere CARB
converter for an

Isa CARB
approved

converter > < equivalent
. 5 Yoes Yoo ear/maka/model
available? Install engine?
CARB
converter
Mo, ortharais no

Ca-2quivalent
vehicla

Isan OEM
converter
available?

Isan OEM
converter
available?

Install OEM
converter

Is there a CARB
converter that fits

Is there a CARB
converter that fits

the vehicle and has Install the vehicle and has
similar metal Yes equiva]ent Yes similar metal
CARB
converter
Contact state Contact state
representative representative
for awaiver to for awaiver to
install an EPA install an EPA
convertear converter
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Sample Checklist to Provide Installers

Installer’'s Checklist for New Aftermarket
Catalytic Converters

1. | The vehicle model is specifically included in the applicability list for
the catalytic converter model | intend to install, and the converter
model is approved for use by California.

2. | I have verified that the vehicle manufacturer’s warranty for the
original catalytic converter has expired. If the warranty has not
expired you must install an OEM catalyst instead of an aftermarket
part. Warranties will range from a minimum of 7 years/70,000 miles
to 15 years/150,000 miles. Consult the owner’s manual.

3. | I have confirmed the need for a replacement catalytic converter. If
the original converter is still installed, a diagnosis that it is
malfunctioning is required.

4. | The replacement converter will be installed in the same location as
the original converter (the front face location will be within three
inches compared to the original design) with the identification clearly
visible.

5. | All oxygen sensors will remain installed in their original location(s).

6. | The catalytic converter will be installed on a “one-for-one” basis (only
one OEM converter is being replaced by the converter to be
installed). Decreasing or increasing the number of catalytic
converters (compared to the stock configuration) is prohibited.

7. | If the vehicle is certified to meet federal emission standards only, |
have ensured that the aftermarket converter has the same level of
precious metal loading and is intended for a similar configuration as
the OEM converter.

8. | Warranty Card - | have:

(a) filled out the warranty card

(b) obtained the customer’s signature on the card

(c) attached the card to the original repair invoice

(d) returned a copy of the warranty card to the converter
manufacturer.




